At the 29th Manila International Book Fair

Si Matsing at si Pagong

Si Matsing at si Pagong


I went to the 29th Manila International Book Fair resolved not to buy books if I could help it, yet knowing that books are my weakness and I would buy as much as I could carry home, even if I didn’t have anywhere to put them. I brought home less than I did last year, but I couldn’t resist these finds: a collection of Amado V. Hernandez works for P150, Teo Antonio’s poems for P50, and former UP Law dean Pacifico Agabin’s essays for P100. A woman at the UP Press booth said they’re also available at the UP Press Bookstore on campus, but they’re not on sale there.
I also bought several coffee table books on Mindanao, Lake Sebu, and the traditions of Holy Week, for P200-P250 each. Plus, of course, the children’s books, which were selling for P30-P60 each. I saw old friends at the book fair, and a cousin I had grown up with, reminding me that at least among the people I know, love of books and reading remain alive.
Another attempt at e-scrapbooking here, with pictures of favorite children’s books characters. Please click here to view the pictures.

Make a Smilebox scrapbook

Leave a Reply

