Cafe Xocolat

Xocolat in Katipunan

I do my best “grilling” in restaurants, and I usually choose quiet places not frequented by fellow reporters. Restaurants that serve tasty, but not pricey, meals, where the ambience is relaxed and the waiters kind but not overly solicitous.

One of my favorites is Xocolat, in particular their Katipunan branch (although I also like their branch at Bonifacio High Street). Meals are priced at a little less than P200, but the hot chocolate alone is filling. My personal favorite is the one laced with chili, which is sweet, thick, and has a spicy aftertaste.

Red vixen cake from Xocolat.
The last time I was there, I had the red vixen cake for dessert: sweet, soft, and perfect with coffee. Another favorite is the hot xocolat, which is chocolate sherbet…laced with alcohol? I think, but I’m not so sure.

A lot of students go to the Katipunan branch, but I haven’t seen a reporter yet (we reporters are really quite protective of our sources; we try to keep them secret, even from other reporters), which makes it perfect for me.

Getting there:
Xocolat Katipunan: From Katipunan Avenue, turn right at Citibank. The first house on the right side is Xocolat, almost opposite the line of the tricycles waiting for passengers.
Xocolat Bonifacio High Street: From Market! Market!, walk towards Fully Booked. Xocolat is on the right side, near Abe’s, a few stores before you cross the street. It’s a small one, but the service and the food are just as good.

One Response

  1. Xocolat is also the best place to have interesting conversations with professors. 😉

    tara, xocolat ulit tayo.

Leave a Reply

